Hash Tag Lights For Pets


Sometimes I wonder who invents these things, it’s like one day someone decided today is going to be a day to honor so and so. Out of nowhere yesterday, a post on facebook brough lights for pets to my attention. So on Thursday September 26th, we will all remember and honor the millions of homeless pets in shelters throughout the nation, and to do so, somewhere in your status on facebook with me #lightsforpets.

First of all, I have yet to understand what and where did this “hash tag” has come from. It’s like it just went viral and now everyone is doing it. I don’t think hash tag for pets really went to viral, I did not see much of it on facebook, but I could be wrong, I don’t spend enough time on facebook as everyone thinks I do.

Today on my day off, I went to do what I usually do , spend time with the shelter babies. It was going to be my status for lights for pets. While just hanging about with a little dog, I spotted something with a shelter number that was very familiar to me. A while back I wrote a blog poem called “I couldn’t save you” about a shelter boy I was not able to save and who was euthanized. This thing that I found has his number and name on it. It belonged to him. Now I have his collar, it sits just above my stove in my kitchen, I see it everyday. But seeing this thing that was his, and thinking of him. It brought tears to my eyes. I loved that dog more then anything and tired my best, but that still was not enough. It did not save him.

So my lights for pets will be honoring those in shelter everyone that we have all got attached to and could not save. When our hearts are breaking, and we feel we can not continue what we do. We need to honor those who we have lost just has much as we should honor those who are still with us. Those just waiting, waiting to see what fate has in store for them.

Leave a comment